Hellman Fellows

The Hellman Fellowship Program was established at UC San Diego in 1995 through the generosity of Chris Hellman and the late Warren Hellman. 2014-15 marks the 20th anniversary of this valuable program that is designed to provide financial support and encouragement to young faculty in the core disciplines who show capacity for great distinction in their research and creative activities. Funds awarded are intended as one-time support for activities that will enhance the individual's progress towards tenure; therefore, prior to receiving a Fellowship, faculty recipients will have served at least two years at the assistant professor rank as evidence of their promise of distinction. The maximum award amount is $50,000.

The applications for the 2015-2016 Hellman Fellows Program will be accepted January 12, 2015 - March 30, 2015. A call for nominations will be sent to eligible faculty in January. The application process for the Hellman Fellows Program is administered by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor. For additional information, contact Jackie Tam, (858) 534-3131 or jytam@ucsd.edu.

2015-2016 Application Criteria, Instructions, and Online Application

List of Previous Recipients

Congratulations to the 2014-2015 Hellman Fellows

Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences Disciplines:

  • Jennifer Burney (School of International Relations and Pacific Studies)
  • Gloria Chacon (Literature)
  • Kevin Lewis (Sociology)
  • Simeon Nichter (Political Science)

Engineering, Biological and Physical Sciences and Scripps Institution of Oceanography:

  • Eric Bennett (Cell and Developmental Biology)
  • Jelena Bradic (Mathematics)
  • Eva-Maria Schoetz Collins (Physics)
  • Amato Evan (Scripps Institution of Oceanography)
  • Drew Hall (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Chambers Hughes (Scripps Institution of Oceanography)
  • Patrick Mercier (Electrical and Computer Engineering)