Academic Freedom Symposium

May 17, 2012

UC San Diego
Campus Notice
University of California, San Diego



April 25, 2012


SUBJECT: Academic Freedom Symposium

The Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor Suresh Subramani is pleased to join Academic Senate Chair Joel Sobel in hosting a symposium on Academic Freedom on May 17, 2012. The symposium provides an opportunity to openly and broadly discuss the concept of academic freedom and its application as we attempt to meet the mission of the university. The symposium will give the audience an opportunity to pose questions to our distinguished panelists.

One of nation’s top legal scholars, Matthew W. Finkin, will keynote at the symposium, scheduled from 9:30-11:30 a.m. on Thursday, May 17, in the Qualcomm Conference Room located on the first floor of Jacobs Hall (EBU I). Professor Finkin holds the Albert J. Harno and Edward W. Cleary Chair in Law at the University of Illinois. He will discuss the meaning of academic freedom and how we protect it. He will be joined by Patrick Fox, Professor of Sociology and Health Policy at UC San Francisco and former chair of the University Committee on Academic Freedom, and Ms. Ann Franke, Esq. of Wise Results, LLC, a national consulting practice devoted to legal and risk-management issues facing educational institutions.

We encourage you to join us on May 17th as the symposium promises to be a remarkable opportunity to engage in a discussion of a topic that is sometimes misunderstood.

For more information please visit:

Suresh Subramani
Executive Vice Chancellor

Joel Sobel
Chair, Academic Senate: San Diego Division

Matthew W. Finkin
Professor Matthew Finkin holds the Albert J. Harno and Edward W. Cleary Chair in Law at the University of Illinois. His teaching centers on labor and employment law in both domestic and comparative context. He is the author or editor, singly or in collaboration, of nine books including For the Common Good: Principles of American Academic Freedom (Yale U. Press 2009) (with Robert Post), the award-winning The Case for Tenure (Cornell U. Press 1996), and the last several editions of Labor Law (with the late Archibald Cox, Derek Bok, and Robert Gorman), long the leading casebook in American legal education. He is also the author of a substantial body of periodical writing on labor and employment law, comparative law, and legal issues in higher education.

His awards include the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation's Research Prize for "internationally acknowledged achievements in labor law" (1995), designation by the University of Illinois as a Center of Advanced Study Professor (2009), and an honorary doctorate from the University of Athens, Greece (2011). In 1997, Professor Finkin assumed joint editorship of the Comparative Labor Law & Policy Journal with Professor Sanford Jacoby of the Anderson Graduate School of Management at UCLA. He also serves on the editorial boards of several professional publications including the Bureau of National Affairs book series, International Labor and Employment Laws, and periodicals, the Canadian Labour and Employment Law Journal, the European Labour Law Journal, and the Zeitschrift für ausländisches und internationales Arbeits- und Sozialrecht.

Professor Finkin has has been a Fulbright Professor at Münster University and a German Marshall Fund Lecturer at Konstanz University. Since 1999, he has been a member of the governing board of the Institute for Labor Law and Employment Relations in the European Community at Trier, Germany; and in 2010 was appointed to the international advisory board of the Giuseppe Pera Foundation in Tuscany. He has lectured widely in Europe, Asia, and Israel.

For over four decades he has been active in the American Association of University Professors including service as general counsel, chair of its Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, and on numerous committees. In addition to his academic work, Professor Finkin is active as a labor arbitrator. He was elected to the National Academy of Arbitrators and serves on several standing arbitral panels in the public and private sectors. He is a fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers.

Patrick J. Fox, Ph.D.
Dr. Patrick J. Fox is Co-Director at the Institute for Health & Aging and Professor of Sociology and Health Policy in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences and the University of California, San Francisco. He is the former chair of the University of California Systemwide Committee on Academic Freedom.

He received his Master of Social Welfare from the University of California, Berkeley, and his Doctor of Philosophy in Sociology from the University of California, San Francisco where he was also a Pew Health Policy Scholar.

Dr. Fox's interests include the sociology of aging, long-term care, evaluation of social and health interventions, health policy, disease-based social movements, economic costs of illness, and health promotion.

He has written numerous reports and articles on the delivery of community-based long-term care and mental health services to the elderly, evaluation of community-based health promotion interventions for the elderly, Alzheimer's disease, the economic costs of disease, and clinical quality improvement.

Ann H. Franke, Esq.
Ann Franke is President and Founder of Wise Results, LLC • Washington, D.C. and has over 25 years of experience with national trends in academic policy and education law. She consults nationally with colleges and universities on issues ranging from student injury to academic freedom.

She founded Wise Results, LLC in 2005 after holding senior management positions with United Educators Insurance and the American Association of University Professors. Ms. Franke speaks often to national groups and has published in, among other periodicals, Trusteeship, the Chronicle of Higher Education, Change magazine, Minerva, and The Review of Litigation.

Ms. Franke is a fellow of the National Association of College and University Attorneys, a trustee of AAUP's Academic Freedom Fund, and a member of the editorial advisory board for "Educator's Guide to Controlling Sexual Harassment." In 2011 she received the national Facilitator Award from the Institute for Higher Education Law and Policy, Stetson University College of Law, for her contributions to campus risk management and student life.